The largest segment of DWI cases heard in Tinton Falls involve those charged with a first offense. Chances are that you find yourself in this dilemma given that you have landed on this page. Do not make the mistake of believing that your fate has already been set as the lawyers at Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver have an excellent record of success in defending Tinton Falls first offense cases. Our history of favorable outcomes stem from many factors including our highly level of training and experience in this area of defense. Our team includes several former DUI/DWI prosecutors, attorneys with over 100 years of combined experience handling these types of cases, and advanced certifications on the Alcotest and in Field Sobriety Testing. A lawyer at Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver is available to assist you immediately at 732-481-2303 in a free initial consultation.
First DWI Offense in Tinton Falls NJ
Although you have no prior record for this violation, there is zero tolerance for this offense under the New Jersey DWI law. The result is exposure to potent consequences if you are convicted of even a first offense including fines, license suspension and other penalties. In this regard, you will face the following:
- License suspension of three months if your blood alcohol concentration (“BAC”) was at least .08% but less than .10%, and seven to twelve months if your BAC is .10% or more;
- Up to thirty days in jail;
- Fines from $250 to $500
- An annual DMV surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years; and
- Installation of the ignition interlock device for a BAC reading of .15% or more (otherwise this penalty is discretionary).
Do not think that nothing can be done however to avoid these ramifications. The motor vehicle stop must be supported by reasonable suspicion of a traffic violation. Even when this evidence exists, you must also fail the field testing or make an admission that establishes probable cause to arrest you. You were also requested to submit to a breath test or blood test and there are many procedural requirements which must be met in order for the test results or a refusal to be valid. A skilled attorney like those at Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver has the tools to effectively challenge the prosecutor in each of these aspects of the case.
First Offense DWI Attorney in Tinton Falls
The DWI lawyers at our firm possess credentials that are truly rare in this state. On top of all the training that has been obtained and decades of experience appearing in Tinton Falls Municipal Court, our DUI defense team is the largest in New Jersey. One of the Tinton Falls DWI Attorneys on our staff is ready to take the time to speak to you in a free initial consultation. Call us for immediate help at 732-481-2303.
Related Links & Information For Tinton Falls DWI Offenses
|2nd Offense DWI in Tinton Falls||Tinton Falls 3rd Offense DWI Attorney|
|Refusal to Submit to Breath Test||Underage DWI in Tinton Falls|